Want some Authority Quickly

18.06.07

W3C Mailing lists are Public, so you can spam them a little, by just asking Questions .. lol

You see how www.digitalofficeworld.com asked a simple question, a couple years ago gets them a PR6 link today :)
http://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/www-validator/2005Jun/0130.html

DaveN

20 Comments

  • 1

    interesting. I thought I remembered a bit back where awall posted he purchased a link from w3c for like 1k or so? but then cutts posted that wc3 links were not given credit

    ShoeMoney
    http://www.shoemoney.com

    18th June 2007 @ 16:12

  • 2

    @Shoe - I think that related to the ’sponsors’ page. I doubt they tuned out the juice from the rest of the site, but who knows?

    Richard Hearne
    http://www.redcardinal.ie

    18th June 2007 @ 16:46

  • 3

    Interesting how http://www.digitalofficeworld.com has a PR0 and only the index page indexed. Maybe they have been bad boys.

    Jeremy Luebke
    http://www.xuru.com

    18th June 2007 @ 16:54

  • 4

    Nice find…if you dig around you can get a PR7 link! Whether it passes anything through though is another matter.

    Jack
    http://www.digitalbricklayer.com/blog/

    18th June 2007 @ 17:37

  • 5

    It was just in the Supporters page.
    http://www.w3.org/Consortium/Member/List
    The cheapest PR9 link you could ever get!!!
    Then the quality team at the Big G discovered and… adios PR9 link….adios 1k (minimum ammount you need to contribute to earn the right to be listed). Funnily enough I can’t find the link to SEOBOOK anymore…

    Santi Hache
    http://www.eyefall.co.uk/blog

    18th June 2007 @ 17:39

  • 6

    @Richard, yes I believe it was the sponsored page only as it was labeled as such.

    Interesting though that the site in question has a TBPR of 0 right now. Would certainly indicate that no green juice is being passed.

    Dave Davis
    http://www.redflymarketing.com/blog/

    18th June 2007 @ 19:24

  • 7

    @Jeremy, it appears that that’s the only link they actually have - according to yahoo

    XRide
    http://www.x-ride.com

    18th June 2007 @ 20:42

  • 8

    Its funny how authority sites are being careless with link value. I blogged the other day about getting a link on Google PR7
    *** that wasn’t meant to be a shameless plug … it just relates to this story ***

    In any event, I see the tides changing and SEO is targeting authority sites which allow member/visitor interaction while providing a link back to your website. I can see product reviews, testimonials, and customer comments on the rise.

    Ant Onaf
    http://www.antonaf.com/blog/

    18th June 2007 @ 21:30

  • 9

    Santi - That is a list of people who are actual members of W3, the supporters page is here:

    http://www.w3.org/Consortium/sup

    The links are followed and I would think they have some value but not much due to the amount of outbounds on the page.

    David Eaves

    18th June 2007 @ 22:06

  • 10

    SEOBook’s link has probably expired as the links only last for twelve months.

    David Eaves

    18th June 2007 @ 22:09

  • 11

    David Eaves - The individual links aren’t nofollowed, but there’s a nofollow in the meta tags.

    JonK

    19th June 2007 @ 00:16

  • 12

    LMAO Dave!!!! I’m loving the example! :p

    Esrun
    http://www.onlinehoster.com/blog

    19th June 2007 @ 09:59

  • 13

    lmao

    seoidiot
    http://www.seoidiot.com/seoblog/

    19th June 2007 @ 10:08

  • 14

    The target site, digitalofficeworld.com, has no page rank and no alexa ranking. So either gone are the days that a page rank 6 link will get you a page rank 4 or 5, or that link was just not counted.

    quadszilla
    http://seoblackhat.com

    19th June 2007 @ 19:42

  • 15

    Hm http://www.digitalofficeworld.com/ certainly is an interesting site, although I’m not sure on the page rank of http://www.digitalofficeworld.com supose digital office world is an interesting enough name.

    Esrun
    http://www.onlinehoster.com/blog

    19th June 2007 @ 22:30

  • 16

    On the topic of office stuff I was searching for Toshiba office equipment and I came across http://www.digipro.co.uk/. It’s odd because I heard that these were the same people and they were getting really worked up because they were starting to drop in the search engines for terms like Toshiba office equipment and felt like they just had to blame someone and they started getting angry at random seos.

    Smello Man

    19th June 2007 @ 22:35

  • 17

    DaveN, here is another one that I found as well. Google is listing it is a backlink to dorward.me.uk

    lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/www-validator/2006Nov/0060.html

    dorward.me.uk seems to have a PR9, btw !!

    Secure Hosting
    http://www.securehost.com

    20th June 2007 @ 03:43

  • 18

    I spammed the hell out of MIT student blogs a year or 2 ago… they had moved everyone’s blogs to a new domain, but mit.edu had GREAT cred, and all of the blog pages were still there! It was spam that offended no one; no one looked at those pages anymore… but even 4 subdirectories deep, there were scads of PR6 pages… I got a pile of PR6 links and lept to PR5 on the next pagerank update…

    ghost

    20th June 2007 @ 06:43

  • 19

    Aren’t we going a little PR crazy here?

    What about relevance? Does it matter anymore?

    SEO Methodology
    http://www.sendtraffic.com/SEO-Methodology.php

    21st June 2007 @ 18:19

  • 20

    How about my website? Is it possible to get a PR 5 or higher with this site? http://www.balloonairborneservice.com

    Bas Spierenburg
    http://www.balloonairborneservice.com

    3rd July 2007 @ 14:51

Add a Comment

*

*

*

Come and work with David Naylor and the team Subscribe
to the David Naylor feed
Follow
David Naylor's Twitter feed
View Dave's Blog