WTF was John Chow banned for selling links, his site is here btw www.johnchow.com just incase you where actually looking for it.
or was he hijacked in the serps, or foul play.. I mean what’s with johnchow.net ?? hmmm
DaveN
16 Comments
-
1
2nd July 2007 @ 17:29
-
2
He blogged about it as well ….
http://www.johnchow.com/its-all-about-pushing-the-limit/2nd July 2007 @ 19:53
-
3
Or maybe http://wwww.johnchow.com/ (with the 4 w) is the hijacker
2nd July 2007 @ 20:47
-
4
Hm, JC’s blog has been high up on my list og blogs where I wanted to buy reviews… But why would G ban sites that sell paid reviews? I think that most people buy reviews not mainly because of the link-juice factor, but to get links from relevant sites. And that’s what they search engines seem to think as well: http://www.seomoz.org/blog/search-engines-say-ok-to-payperpost-services
But anyway… I might still get my review from JC, because he’s got a massive community of readers, which fit perfectly into my target group
3rd July 2007 @ 08:14
-
5
John Chow sure is popular, I’ve been showing that adwords ad for 4 days and its had 2000 impressions.
Personally I think it was for selling links. A well known link broker also doesn’t rank for their own name anymore.
3rd July 2007 @ 08:55
-
6
Ok, wait… this is not a ban, I thought you would know that. Doing a site: search on johnchow.com pulls up plenty of results. He tanked last month both for [make money online] and his name [john chow]… but he does still show up in the serps. If you set your results to 100 per page you can see him now, he is currently bouncing between the 40’s to the 80’s for both terms.
I had blogged about it here when it happened, because he had started a new contest at around the same time:
http://smackdown.blogsblogsblogs.com/2007/06/18/john-chows-latest-contest-may-soon-be-overshadowed/
4th July 2007 @ 01:54
-
7
You now rank at no1 for “john chow” Dave! lol, you getting much traffic from it?
4th July 2007 @ 12:33
-
8
According to my SERPs, John’s at #9 for “john chow” (without quotes) but it doesn’t look pretty … almost supplemental …
Incidentally, I emailed a certain text link brokerage website what they thought of Google’s recent actions and all they could say was “Selling links is a business, it will always be around - so join up!”
Oh well … that’s alright then …
4th July 2007 @ 17:36
-
9
You now rank at no1 for “john chow” Dave!
Only on google.co.uk, but, wow… that’s hilarious!
4th July 2007 @ 18:12
-
10
I found a great post explaining why john’s site got the kicked down:
4th July 2007 @ 19:26
-
11
The main problem, IMHO, was the review-for-a-link-back promotion. He was openly requesting link backs with specific anchor text, in exchange for a review. Check http://www.johnchow.com/making-money-reviews-batch-87/
6th July 2007 @ 14:50
-
12
The Blogging community has been set alight by the latest happenings in the John Chow saga.
I’m an avid reader of the John Chow dot Com Blog and his monetization strategies are comparable to none.
All that talk about “evil seo strategies” is taking the “piggies to the market,” most of us actually do try them before and after John ever mentioned them.
On the other hand every bit of us hustle and bustle to achieve top SERP especially on Google therefore this so called “banning from the top 10″ serves to benefit a few of us plus one ad there is some gain to be had from profiting from another man’s misfortune.
The next worst case scenario for John Chow dot Com is for Google to lower his PR from a 6 to say a 3 or 4 would dramatically affect his earning potential with the Text-Link-Ads.com service that earns a substantial portion for this blog.
Let’s see Google’s next move in this interesting game of “chess”
21st July 2007 @ 01:48
-
13
This banning is because he offered an aggressive link referral scheme when the phrase “make money online” was used as the anchor text pointing to his blog. This is classified as “manipulation of search results” which the big G doesn’t like… Most SEO is manipulation of various different variables to improve rank and so on anyway.
17th February 2008 @ 15:11
-
14
Can anyone tell me is this two website operated by the same person?
9th October 2008 @ 10:07
-
15
Kudos to Hamlet for a spot on answer. John used his blog to openly request links with pre-conceived anchor text to increase his presence in Google SERPs. Being big G and all, Google slapped his site with a vengeance, and penalize him to supplement results hell. What will it take to mend the relationship with Google? Perhaps a Google apology letter signed from JC himself.
11th April 2009 @ 06:50
-
16
It will be interested to see what happens. Maybe Google will unban Johns site…
Luckily, his blog earnings for 2009 are still climbing : $40,000 per month.
14th April 2009 @ 12:43



Looks like a ban,dont know when you picked it up but there has been a huge thread DP for the last few days here
And of course some people using it to promote there blogs here
His site turned into one big PPP so not too surprised
OT - Any word on threadwatch? it cant just be left to close, even if Aaron doesnt want to run it anymore