Ok this isn’t your normal way of stealing authority or blogspamming, it’s the good old cross linking, you know the stuff that Google says you can’t do, that they catch all the time..

try this search Glazier Ripon I bet you can’t find one Glazier in Ripon, apart from the www.genuki.org.uk which was 1822 !!! for fuck sake.. i have never seen Google in such a bad shape of Spam..

screen shot :
key

ripon glazier

on the other hand look at Yahoo or Live.com.

(I stumbled across this last night after we’d been broken into and was genuinely looking for someone to fix a broken window.)

DaveN

26 Comments

  • 1

    Seeing as davidnaylor.co.uk is now 2nd those results just got a lot worse :)

    paulh | http://www.assertica.co.uk

    14th August 2007 @ 11:14

  • 2

    You’re at number two now :) Google really is quick with the indexing these days.

    CarlM | http://www.mcelwee.se

    14th August 2007 @ 11:20

  • 3

    Check out #1 for “glazier bolton” on .co.uk – some classic keyword cramming – especially the hidden text at the bottom of the page :)

    Ady Bee | http://www.customerstreet.com

    14th August 2007 @ 12:08

  • 4

    ADY.. same company same template, same cross links, same spam

    DaveN

    14th August 2007 @ 12:29

  • 5

    They spam for the electrician space too:
    http://www.google.com/search?q=Electrician+Chiswick&pws=0
    #9 here. (Though you’ll pop them down to ten as soon as this page gets indexed!)

    Liam Delahunty | http://www.liamdelahunty.com

    14th August 2007 @ 12:47

  • 6

    lol – very funny! i’d stick with the yellow pages dave!
    I’m off to work on my adsense mini site network.. got me some crosslinks to build… :)

    Steve

    14th August 2007 @ 12:52

  • 7

    This makes a mockery of Google that this can still be done on a large scale.

    On a plus note, always nice to have one, really fast indexing Google :-) , even if it still does not get your window fixed if you live near Ripon

    ukgimp

    14th August 2007 @ 13:17

  • 8

    At least the police caught the little Bastards !

    DaveN

    14th August 2007 @ 13:19

  • 9

    Well that’s good news anyway. Glad to hear it. Did you get a lot stolen?

    Will Critchlow | http://www.distilled.co.uk/blog/

    14th August 2007 @ 14:01

  • 10

    nah just a flat screen though the window and an electric screwdriver .. the building is secure and we have monitored alarms.

    DaveN

    DaveN

    14th August 2007 @ 14:22

  • 11

    TBH didn’t even look at the listings – the snippet was enough to put me off. Well Dave its good to see that all my time spent promoting ethical SEO has paid off….

    Ady Bee | http://www.customerstreet.com

    14th August 2007 @ 14:43

  • 12

    #1 now from where I am (that’s a long way away…).

    Maybe there’s not a whole lot of authority about for that query? (no offence intended)

    Rgds
    Richard

    Richard Hearne

    14th August 2007 @ 15:22

  • 13

    the more I look for this type of thing, the more I find, making me wonder has G actually done *anything* to fight spam?

    well, I suppose they do update the webmaster guidelines now and then ;)

    Google Tutor | http://www.googletutor.com

    14th August 2007 @ 15:46

  • 14

    This is why Yahoo replaced Google as my SE of choice a few months ago. If it’s frustrating for us lot, imagine how bad it is for regular users!

    Joff | http://joff.org

    14th August 2007 @ 16:36

  • 15

    Well, when you eventually find a genuine glazier to fix your glass, you might ask them if they have a website and whether they ever get any business through it.

    It would be interesting to hear their perspective as to what their related Google results look like, or even to just hear if they are aware of what they look like.

    g1smd

    14th August 2007 @ 20:10

  • 16

    here on the Wirral we have to make do with glaziersnear .co .uk !

    John Cronin | http://www.anotherjunctio.com

    14th August 2007 @ 20:55

  • 17

    Becky managed to get the window fixed by one of our web clients, North Yorkshire Sash Windows. When they heard what had happened they offered to come straight round and did a great job. So it’s not what you know, but who you know!

    DaveN

    15th August 2007 @ 11:40

  • 18

    Hey mate I have to say you have SB doing it with a lot more creativity

    AussieWebmaster | http://www.smart-keywords.com/blog.html

    15th August 2007 @ 14:58

  • 19

    Your police are a lot better than by me! Did you get your stuff back or had it already been sold down the pub.

    Always good to know lots of people.

    Also you are 1 and 2 when i look.

    I am sure Matt will be please to see you number 1

    yourslice | http://www.homeandgardengifts.co.uk

    15th August 2007 @ 16:25

  • 20

    One more way to spam Google. Check how one company have seven listing on the first page with while allt he URL’S ARE ON THE SAME SERVER WITH THE SAME AD SENSE ACCOUNT. http://www.google.com/search?q=liquidation+towels&hl=en&rlz=1T4GGIH_enUS222US222

    Just to make it easy the URL’s are ( http://www.clearance-bargains.com,www.warehouseliquidations.com,www.tdwcloseouts.com,www.accesscloseouts.com/)

    So the company has on every URL its own who is, and the contact info in the site has its own 1800 number and address but all the URL’S are on the same server and using the same google adsence account pub-0588278385560732

    Joe Martin | http://www.studentloandir.com

    16th August 2007 @ 15:20

  • 21

    it’s coming up #1 for me on google.com from the US ! well done ;) Now just wait for all those calls from people with broken windows…

    Becky | http://www.preblogging.com/

    16th August 2007 @ 17:17

  • 22

    [...] How to Spam Google : Glazier Ripon [...]

  • 23

    “apart from the http://www.genuki.org.uk which was 1822″

    Out of curiousity, how do you know it’s rank if it’s past 1000? :D

    Dbyt3r

    19th August 2007 @ 23:06

  • 24

    I’m guessing that was a typo for 182.

    g1smd

    21st August 2007 @ 17:48

  • 25

    That would make sense because I’ve pulled more thank 1k results a lot, but I can’t ever tell which one is ranking where because of the way they’re pulled.

    Dbyt3r

    22nd August 2007 @ 15:24

  • 26

    The *year* 1822. That site is a geneaology site, and references glaziers 185 years ago.

    NevDull | http://www.nevdull.com/

    19th September 2007 @ 17:54

Write a Comment

*

*

*

SES New YorkA4U Expo Munich
Subscribe
to the David Naylor feed
Follow
David Naylor's Twitter feed

View Dave's Blog