I was sent this link: Google Approved SEO. When I checked out the comments I was pretty surprised to see who had endorsed me:

Google Approved SEO

What can I say – I’m pretty much made up! :) Of course it could have been 100 times worse…reputation management has just taken on a whole new dimension.

In my subscription area I will tell you more :)

DaveN

DaveN

25 Comments

  • 1

    brought some giggles on a monday afternoon

    countdown to handjob in 10….9……8

    Dominic Hodgson | http://www.thehodge.co.uk

    24th November 2008 @ 17:01

  • 2

    That’s pretty funny, but it’s not unique. I’ve also seen fake blog comments, fake MySpace pages, and fake MyBlogLog people where people pretended to be me.

    Matt Cutts | http://www.mattcutts.com/blog/

    24th November 2008 @ 17:22

  • 3

    This is fake?!? We’ve been celebrating all afternoon! SearchWiki giveth and SearchQuality taketh away :(

    Daniel Mcskelly | http://www.bronco.co.uk

    24th November 2008 @ 17:27

  • 4

    Incidentally, I think the implications of this kind of nonsense are a little more important when it’s visible on google.com as opposed to MySpace or another non-G property.

    Sightly problematic that I can attach a “This site may harm your computer” message, ostensibly from Google, to any old site. You’d have to be a bit dim to fall for it, of course, but dim people keep the phishing industry in business. I know it’s a WIP and all but still…

    Daniel Mcskelly | http://www.bronco.co.uk

    24th November 2008 @ 17:50

  • 5

    Matt what I wonder is when somebody creates an account under a fake name (perhaps that of a competitor) and leaves a libellous comment.

    Google hosts the comment therefore Google gets sued along with the guy in India behind a proxy. Clearly Google is the one that ends up paying.

    Patrick Altoft

    24th November 2008 @ 18:58

  • 6

    I did think of doing that first but change my mind lol

    DaveN

    24th November 2008 @ 19:25

  • 7

    Who the fuck is Dave Naylor?

    Matt Cutts | http://www.google.com

    24th November 2008 @ 20:19

  • 8

    That’s a fake comment, Dave,and I recently read that it’s a felony to do that in the US because it violates our Federal Trade Commission (FTC) guidelines [sic].

    john andrews | http://www.johnon.com

    24th November 2008 @ 20:35

  • 9

    lol @ Matt Cutts II :)

    Daniel Mcskelly | http://www.bronco.co.uk

    24th November 2008 @ 20:40

  • 10

    @john andrews so is the Second “Matt Cutts” post ;)

    DaveN

    24th November 2008 @ 20:43

  • 11

    Dave,

    I couldn’t help myself but I added a SearchWiki comment to your URL with the query you have above. I just think this SearchWiki thing is going to get out of control fast.

    Dave

    Solar Dave | http://dave@solardave.com

    24th November 2008 @ 21:31

  • 12

    its really a interesting discussion. It generally happens with my blog also, when people comments any thing.

    Steve | http://www.neotericuk.co.uk

    25th November 2008 @ 05:44

  • 13

    Surely this only adds to the proof that Search Wiki is seriously flawed?

    Richard

    25th November 2008 @ 10:27

  • 14

    [...] que o Google quer ir mesmo pela via dos conteúdos? Se calhar é má ideia… « Dólar Vs [...]

  • 15

    [...] due to the face that most people have started to spam the hell out of it. The best exampled form Dave N. It looks like SEO’s will big up their own clients and dismiss competition. This has already [...]

  • 16

    Shesh, the geniuses at Google must have been drinking the same water as the chancelor of the exchquer. I am going to start staying in bed in the mornings and just give up on this SEO crap soon. Google = dumb. Chancelor = dumb. :) Thats my opinion anyway.

    Allan Stewart | http://www.pulsejobs.com

    26th November 2008 @ 11:53

  • 17

    @Matt Cutts #7 them is fighting words! lol.

    Search Wiki is super sweet, thanks for helping me reach my December targets ahead of schedule. (I wish)

    Bronson

    26th November 2008 @ 20:00

  • 18

    Some interesting legal points over at Blogstorm if anyone’s interested;
    http://www.blogstorm.co.uk/searchwiki-%E2%80%93-new-medium-but-the-old-laws-still-apply/1583/

    Ben McKay | http://www.justmeandmy.com

    26th November 2008 @ 20:58

  • 19

    Are you sure the comment was really from Matt Cutts? If so, congradulations!

    Gary Catona | http://www.ultimatevoicebuilder.com

    28th November 2008 @ 21:01

  • 20

    Hi there,

    If thats real then well done but I’d need to see it on Matt Cutts blog before I’d truely believe it was him.

    How do you see comments like the above anyway? I followed the link to a google results page, but I can’t see any comments.

    cheers

    Irish fella | http://www.traditionalirishgifts.com/

    1st December 2008 @ 13:14

  • 21

    Good Post!I’ve also seen fake blog comments, fake MySpace pages people where people pretended to be me.
    Thanks

    Rob Lee | http://www.dotcominfoway.co.uk/

    10th December 2008 @ 10:26

  • 22

    Google owns DoubleClick and they don’t even openly and fully endorse DoubleClick. Who the fuck is Dave Naylor? Get rid of the gif image and show us the endorsement links. Wake up from your stupid dream… there’s no such thing as “Google Approved SEO”. I wonder why people think all SEO’s are so full of bullshit.

    Raja

    1st January 2009 @ 00:26

  • 23

    hey dave howz about taking down this article. i feel for you man

    naysh | http://www.altvirtual.com

    5th January 2009 @ 14:23

  • 24

    That’s pretty cool! How’d you make that happen?

    more website traffic | http://www.thetrafficbible.com

    1st February 2009 @ 05:18

  • 25

    If there was ever a real “Google Approved SEO” then Dave Naylor would be it. Check out his site for more information.

    rishil | http://designer-watches.org

    4th January 2010 @ 12:09

Write a Comment

*

*

*

SES New YorkA4U Expo Munich
Subscribe
to the David Naylor feed
Follow
David Naylor's Twitter feed

View Dave's Blog