When I did a search for “from conservatories to wind” I found many different formats to the link purchase.
Careful if you look at all the results because one tried to install a virus on my computer (shame on Google for not taking that result out – last one).
I’ve seen this kind of thing with fake banner ads – obviously bought links that appear at first glance to be a standard 468×60 banner. In fact it was a 468×60 div with an image background and three links. All pretty unsophisticated, anyway
I think that is quite clever and cannot fathom the controversy – Dave thanks for pointing this out. I think its interesting to see the creativity of webmasters on the net.
At first I wasn’t even sure if this post was written by Dave as the grammar is so poor, but I guess it was just a fast post. Anyway, I’ve seen numerous sites creating text link blocks that look like Google ad blocks (the TravelGolf.com network started doing this a couple of years ago), but labeling these specifically as Google ads is certainly something that Google will frown upon. I assume you are just pointing out your find and not actually endorsing it?
This I think is not so safe technique. Coz deceiving the users is one thing,
and escaping from google’s eye is next to losing your potential online venture
just for being a little adventurous.
Well, it’s all fine and well cloaking text links to look like Google served them, but in certain industries, where there will be little or no ads it immediately sets off an alarm bell concerning trust issues in my head.
“Can i trust there guys if they are using deliberately deceiving me?”
That said, it’s pretty cunning, like a fox from harvard!
[...] you are going to sell links, you can cloak them as being AdSense ads to lower your risk profile, because if it’s Google its got to be Good! Or you can require the [...]
kengointer 1857 days ago
http://adsense.banphan.com/
In fact it was a 468×60 div with an image background and three links.
Stay away from a company called Direct Traffic Media. They participate in link selling – we were burned pretty badly by them with no comeback. Good luck!
I will second that on Direct Traffic Media. We spent thousands with them a while back and got burned very very badly. Virtually no increase in traffic, appalling customer service and a load of fake promises and ‘guarantees’ that never even came close to materialising. They are a bunch of conartists and I would not advise ANYONE to enter into business with them. When you ultimately stop working with them you then lose all the links they have built and you might as well have burned the thousands of pounds invested….
Yomguaille 1881 days ago
http://yomguaille.free.frHi,
I don’t understand what you mean… :-/
Brian 1881 days ago
http://oggersblayuidegayotayeosay.blogspot.comI am staying away from all sites that are focused on clothing beginning with “ind-”
jusack 1881 days ago
could you juat shut the fuck up?
your link buying bitching becomes really boring.
Chris 1881 days ago
Definitely a rather smart link buying campaign, but why the hell didnt they vary the text… event just a little.
DaveN 1881 days ago
jusack my blog fuck off
imnotadoctor 1881 days ago
http://www.imnotadoctor.comDave
Gab wrote a blog post about something similar this week.
http://seoroi.com/seo-roi-quality/sneakiest-text-link-ad-disguise/
Terry Reeves 1881 days ago
http://www.terryreeves.com/I think Dave has a point there.
Gab (guy who wrote on disguising links as adsense) 1881 days ago
http://seoroi.com/seo-roi-quality/sneakiest-text-link-ad-disguise/Well, I never proposed that you try and create non-existent ad blocks! That’s just poor implementation, I’m afraid!
Kinda fun to see people adopting my idea though (or that others came up with this independently?).
Dave Dugdale 1881 days ago
http://www.rentvine.comWhen I did a search for “from conservatories to wind” I found many different formats to the link purchase.
Careful if you look at all the results because one tried to install a virus on my computer (shame on Google for not taking that result out – last one).
PaulH 1880 days ago
http://www.assertica.co.ukSome very big UK brands using that network/service
shame that once you find one you can find dozens more – Some parabuilding type ad text wouldn’t of gone a miss.
Gab 1880 days ago
I’d like to point out that I didn’t suggest doing the text link disguises that way. This is poor execution.
BTW, Dave: Were you being sarcastic in the title, because of the execution; or were you serious, because of the idea behind this?
Xianhong 1880 days ago
is that an adsense unit?
Pete 1880 days ago
PeteI’ve seen this kind of thing with fake banner ads – obviously bought links that appear at first glance to be a standard 468×60 banner. In fact it was a 468×60 div with an image background and three links. All pretty unsophisticated, anyway
Andreas Voniatis 1880 days ago
http://www.alchemyv.com/blogI think that is quite clever and cannot fathom the controversy – Dave thanks for pointing this out. I think its interesting to see the creativity of webmasters on the net.
Halfdeck 1879 days ago
http://www.seo4fun.com/blog/The thing people forget about these kinds of tricks is that passing Google’s manual review is just half the battle.
Sam Stevens 1879 days ago
http://www.stevensmedia.com/blog/At first I wasn’t even sure if this post was written by Dave as the grammar is so poor, but I guess it was just a fast post. Anyway, I’ve seen numerous sites creating text link blocks that look like Google ad blocks (the TravelGolf.com network started doing this a couple of years ago), but labeling these specifically as Google ads is certainly something that Google will frown upon. I assume you are just pointing out your find and not actually endorsing it?
Dan 1879 days ago
Perhaps the graphic should say ‘Ads FOR Google’
SEO Guru 1879 days ago
http://notsonatural.co.ukYou may not want to name the spammers – but I will…
Dave – seriously. Jusacks Comments…
You talk about links a lot. What should Google do? My feeling is remove links from the algorithm. You think this is possible?
Online advertising 1877 days ago
Online advertisingThis I think is not so safe technique. Coz deceiving the users is one thing,
and escaping from google’s eye is next to losing your potential online venture
just for being a little adventurous.
bronson 1877 days ago
http://www.twenty20.co.zaWell, it’s all fine and well cloaking text links to look like Google served them, but in certain industries, where there will be little or no ads it immediately sets off an alarm bell concerning trust issues in my head.
“Can i trust there guys if they are using deliberately deceiving me?”
That said, it’s pretty cunning, like a fox from harvard!
The ongoing battle for links : Little Green Bar :: What Does It Really Mean??? 1873 days ago
[...] Naylor started an interesting discussion on his blog this week about how websites are selling text links disguised as Google Adsense [...]
Guida SEO » The Changing Face of Link Buying 1859 days ago
[...] you are going to sell links, you can cloak them as being AdSense ads to lower your risk profile, because if it’s Google its got to be Good! Or you can require the [...]
kengointer 1857 days ago
http://adsense.banphan.com/In fact it was a 468×60 div with an image background and three links.
Bronson 1784 days ago
In response to the trackback – mentioning the little green bar….
I can see it now, a streetfighter II set up with MC on one side and Guile on the other – Let’s Fight!
If big G wanted the money they could sell PR top ups
Sam 1438 days ago
http://creatingblog.comGoogle always punish If u sell links on your site! Stay away from link selling
Mani 1348 days ago
http://www.moneysavingspy.co.ukStay away from a company called Direct Traffic Media. They participate in link selling – we were burned pretty badly by them with no comeback. Good luck!
Richard 1264 days ago
http://Nowdeceased!I will second that on Direct Traffic Media. We spent thousands with them a while back and got burned very very badly. Virtually no increase in traffic, appalling customer service and a load of fake promises and ‘guarantees’ that never even came close to materialising. They are a bunch of conartists and I would not advise ANYONE to enter into business with them. When you ultimately stop working with them you then lose all the links they have built and you might as well have burned the thousands of pounds invested….