Backlinks Request

Ok I get emails like this all the time but this made me laugh my balls off…

The text to your link would read as follows, unless you wanted an

alternative:
Dave Naylor a UK SEO > 2007 > January

I mean that looks like I died in January 2007

Dear Davidnaylor,

My name is EXXXXn Bogart and I work for XXXXXXXXX, the online social networking community supported by Autocar magazine.

Although now an established website, we’re looking to grow exponentially by linking with various websites whom we might share a similar demographic with. Bearing this in mind, I was wondering if you’d be interested in a mutual exchange of links.

The text to your link would read as follows, unless you wanted an

alternative:
Dave Naylor a UK SEO > 2007 > January

Our own should read:
MXXXXX.com: the web’s most comprehensive social networking community for automobile enthusiasts

I sincerely hope to hear back from you.

Yours Sincerely,
EXXXXn Bogart

Share and Enjoy: These icons link to social bookmarking sites where readers can share and discover new web pages.
  • Digg
  • Sphinn
  • Live
  • StumbleUpon
  • Facebook
  • Google
  • Reddit
  • Technorati
  • Mixx

9 Comments | Leave a comment »

  1. 1. Dudibob | May 16th 2007 @ 11:39 am

    o0o0o I dunno Dave, maybe that anchor text could get you the number one spot for that term :p

    These sort of emails are so dumb >.

  2. 2. NA | May 16th 2007 @ 11:56 am

    I recommend you block all IPs from India. This type of SPAM emails are all sent by idiots from India.

  3. 3. Dave Davis | May 16th 2007 @ 11:57 am

    Looks like you are now outranking them for:

    “the web’s most comprehensive social networking community for automobile enthusiasts”

    This crap does my head in.

  4. 4. Jack | May 16th 2007 @ 12:41 pm

    Wow, I didn’t think SEOs were doing this sort of thing anymore. Very old skool.

  5. 5. Simon Heseltine | May 16th 2007 @ 1:32 pm

    I don’t know that you should ignore it, I mean they obviously took the time and effort to scrape one of your title tags :p

  6. 6. Brad | May 16th 2007 @ 3:10 pm

    Yet another resident of some shack in Bangalore sending out crap all day long wasting our time for pennies…. they are even more of a pain than the Nigerian 419 brigade.

  7. 7. Natasha Robinson | May 16th 2007 @ 3:59 pm

    If Jan. was when you decided that you had enough of this corporate SEO dealings and soon you’d go back to olden days Dave… then they may well be right - lol! :)

  8. 8. James Oppenheim | May 18th 2007 @ 10:06 am

    Maybe they should consider employing someone like you rather than spamming you.

  9. 9. da108ed4 | May 19th 2007 @ 11:27 am

    This kind of spam is mainly sent by US citizens. And not so rarely by US SEO companies. According to whois and dnsstuff. In most cases, this is automaticaly done by software.

Leave a Reply

required

required, hidden

+ Advertise Here