www.AboutUs.org Spammers

Now it’s not very often that something really really fucks me off … but

AboutUs.org

just did, I mean yer i have spammed in the past, but i have never ever looked like this :
Not Dave Naylor

but as a full blooded English man .. I take exception to A life long resident of Michigan !! wtf.. IF you are going to steal content fucking steal it from the Right site !!

DaveN

Share and Enjoy: These icons link to social bookmarking sites where readers can share and discover new web pages.
  • Digg
  • Sphinn
  • Live
  • StumbleUpon
  • Facebook
  • Google
  • Reddit
  • Technorati
  • Mixx

10 Comments | Leave a comment »

  1. 1. randfish | September 13th 2006 @ 4:33 pm

    I just saw they had done the same thing to SEOmoz. It’s pretty clever though - mash up scraped content with Alexa like data in a MediaWiki build and watch the clicks roll in. I’d think you’d be impressed - pure, auto-gen’d spam that ranks and looks real to users. :)

  2. 2. pickled | September 13th 2006 @ 4:40 pm

    that isn’t spam, that’s Web 2.0.

  3. 3. Dio | September 13th 2006 @ 4:46 pm

    Hmm, how have the got my address when I’m opted out of the WHOIS? That’s naughty.

  4. 4. oilman | September 13th 2006 @ 4:57 pm

    What’s interesting is the prominence so the AboutUs.org banner on the tools pages of whois.sc….

  5. 5. darrat | September 13th 2006 @ 5:20 pm

    Nice spam mashup

    You giving them link love?

  6. 6. Der Minister | September 13th 2006 @ 6:21 pm

    i tried to kill those freaks but just works for 3 days… than they were up again… :(

    someone should ddos this idiot.

  7. 7. Peter | September 14th 2006 @ 3:38 pm

    Dave,

    I don’t see the point, where’s the monetization?

    Nice pic btw, if I’d known you looked that good I’d have spent more time here :)

  8. 8. remo | September 15th 2006 @ 5:40 pm

    If it was a caption competion, it should be “Mr Naylor once the operation is complete this is how you will look” :)

  9. 9. Trabob | April 13th 2007 @ 9:28 pm

    I have read some of the posts on aboutus.org and I agree with all that I read but, the one comment I hoped to read I did not see, and that is: apparently their bot extracts all or many of the pages from your site and places them in link pages with 1,000 + other links making it near impossible to find the link, but that link page is picked up by google (maybe others but haven’t found them) so that when you do a search on google by site name it brings up all the link pages on aboutus.org with a link to your site, what this means is it can double the number of listings in search for your site with half of the links going to aboutus link pages and nowere near your site unless people take the time to read the address after the linking. Example: I have a page on one of my sites named Animals and there is a link listed for Animals-about us going to their site link page(s) for those having 100 pages on their site in time they will have 200 pages and one half of them going to aboutus.org I have contacted google and waiting for a response as I consider this whole thing a fraud and a damage to every website listed in search’s. I would hope google has enough money that they do not stoop to that level to turn people away from the legitamite sites on the web, if not my intent is to contact the prosecuters in their home states as I consider this fraud and we will see if I am right.
    Thanks for allowing me to add my 2 cents worth, also check you searchs in google to see if you have been victimized by this
    Trabob

  10. 10. trabob | April 17th 2007 @ 6:57 pm

Leave a Reply

required

required, hidden

+ Advertise Here