Bigmouthmedia BYE BYE

Well I’m not too sure why but look : BigMouthMedia .. Fuck up by Big Daddy or By BigMouthMedia.. Either way can’t be good for business

DaveN

Share and Enjoy: These icons link to social bookmarking sites where readers can share and discover new web pages.
  • Digg
  • Sphinn
  • Live
  • StumbleUpon
  • Facebook
  • Google
  • Reddit
  • Technorati

16 Comments | Leave a comment »

  1. 1. Paul | February 20th 2006 @ 7:17 pm

    funny though, no?

  2. 2. me | February 20th 2006 @ 9:38 pm

    heard a rummor they where using automated tools on the same server that hosted the site. Not confimrmed, just somethign i heard.

  3. 3. Highlander | February 20th 2006 @ 9:44 pm

    Haha, can’t believe it. You’re right, can’t be good for THEIR business, it can only be good for yours and mine!

    AV

  4. 4. Stu | February 20th 2006 @ 9:54 pm

    Can you guess whos client this was?

  5. 5. Anonymous | February 21st 2006 @ 11:15 am

    long overdue, they were careless…

  6. 6. Jamie Patterson | February 22nd 2006 @ 11:12 am

    I noticed that Big Mouth Media are back in the listings this morning. There are changes to their home page from yesterday, but I cannot believe that that was enough to get them barred.

    Following the advice on this page on the BMM site, I searched for the terms which they suggested, and found these really rather fun CSS hidden text spam pages.

    The whole of that directory is the same, and it is linked from the Alitalia home page, so even if BMM are back in the Google listings, perhaps their clients (who seem to have had problems with Bigmouthmedia linking from their site before) shouldn’t relax just yet!

  7. 7. Jamie Patterson | February 22nd 2006 @ 11:34 am

    If you look through the Bigmouthmedia Case studies and follow their suggested searches you get http://www.alitalia.co.uk/flights/.

    Whatever caused BMM to get delisted, it can’t have helped that they have clients who have got whole directories stuffed with hidden (CSS) text?

  8. 8. Big Dave | February 22nd 2006 @ 12:25 pm

    I just read this over at cre8asite

    I think I’d be getting a bit toutchy now if I was a client?

  9. 9. Anon Scaredy Cat | February 22nd 2006 @ 5:27 pm

    http://tinyurl.com/frn4r shows security problems too.

    Looks like a LAME duck to me

  10. 10. Anonymous | February 22nd 2006 @ 9:38 pm

    The http://tinyurl.com/frn4r security flaw has been fixed but unfortunately there are many many others on the site.

    Try adding

    ?”>

    to any page on the site. Programming safe code isn’t hard. Why doesn’t this LARGE company with some HUGE clients do it?

  11. 11. Jonesy | February 22nd 2006 @ 9:53 pm

    Interestingly, Sainsburysbank.co.uk are also on their client list and are hiding content too!!! Take a look at the homepage with JavaScript turned off. I went through some more of their clients sites but didn’t find any more hidden stuff. Oddly, however, I didn’t find much SEO on their sites either…why would that be? Confused…

  12. 12. Howard | February 23rd 2006 @ 3:50 pm

    Try Tesco!

  13. 13. Daggle: Danny Sullivan's Blog | February 24th 2006 @ 12:13 am

    My Multimonitor Setup: Three Screens For One Computer
    Dave Naylor was asking me today on our Daily SearchCast podcast about whether he should stick with one monitor or jump to two. My response? Go for three! I’ve used three monitors for about two years now, and I’d never go back….

  14. 14. Stu | February 24th 2006 @ 8:28 pm

    A few people are pointing out that DirectTraffic.org are promising exclusive feedback over BMM, and they’ve even started a discussion forum about the ban.

    Funny to note however, that a site that ranks number 2 for “bigmouthmedia” lists 20 uk agencies, but only affords BMM corporate branding (the red “mouth” highlighting), not the others, and is hosted on Fasthosts, one of BMM’s clients.

    Go go brand protection!

  15. […] Heute gesehen, daß Bigmouthmedia wieder PageRank 7 hat und auch wieder alle Sites im Google-Index sind. Bigmouthmedia hatte anscheinend laut dieser Blog-Kommentare tatsächlich “hidden text” per CSS versteckt und dies auch für Kunden umgesetzt. Habe allerdings nach wie vor keine weitere Info dazu gefunden. Die müssen einen mächtig direkten Draht zu Google in GB haben, so schnell hats ausser BMW noch keiner zurück in den Google-Index geschafft. Diesen Artikel per Mail versenden: Artikel per Mail senden […]

  16. 16. kailyn | January 8th 2007 @ 7:55 am

    there are many outgoing links from home page and all are hidden from the user

Leave a Reply

required

required, hidden

smx

Start with £50 credit in your new Yahoo! Search Marketing account for a limited period only.

+ Advertise Here