Blog

118 118 Florist in Manchester

by

Not sure if 118 188 are spamming this or not but something is wrong.

I was looking at Local Search Companies in the UK, and seeming how I’m visiting Beckys’ Sister and Brother-in-law, in a couple of weeks I was thinking hmmm maybe I’ll get some flowers for Mand.. anyway while doing the research which I will post the data on that later, I found this 118 result at first look everything seemed normal, 118 is a pretty big company in the UK.

But then I noticed ..

Julie AnnS Florists
Tel: 0845 150 0000
378 Palatine Road, Manchester, Manchester M35 9FE and the web link went to http://www .flowersdirect.co.uk/?af=40100 ( thats an aff link )

so I looked a bit closer and

Lynn’s Flowers
Tel: 0845 150 0000
300 Warrington Road, Wigan, Greater Manchester WN2 5XA weblink again flowersdirect af=40100

Flowers Direct
Tel: 0845 855 9601
Anchor Buildings, Westgate, Morecambe, Lancashire LA3 3DD weblink again flowersdirect af=40100

Alternative Arrangements
Tel: 0845 150 0000
6 Holcombe Precinct, Bury, Greater Manchester BL0 9SH weblink again flowersdirect af=40100

Blooms Florist
Tel: 0808 144 0808
746 Oldham Road, Manchester, Greater Manchester M35 9FE weblink again flowersdirect af=40100

So what’s happened 118′s data been hacked or poisoned, or 118 playing dirty ? to be honest I don’t know

DaveN

9 Comments

  • Patrick Altoft 2176 days ago

    Flowers Direct has a paid ad in the right sidebar as well. My guess is that they just want to track sales or something.

    Reply
  • Chris 2176 days ago

    http://chris123gmail.com

    Oh my that’s creative. It’s interesting to note that those listings are premium paid listings too.

    Reply
  • Joost de Valk 2176 days ago

    Hmmm… Sounds pretty “bad” to me…

    Reply
  • Cathy 2176 days ago

    http://floristblogs.com/blogs/avant_gardens/

    Lynn’s Flowers, Julie AnnS Florists & Alternative Arrangements oddly all have the same phone number – 0845 150 0000. The one listed for Blooms Florist, 0808 144 0808, appears to belong to Flowers Direct, too.

    I’ve put in a request for more info on a UK florist BB to find out if the brick & mortar stores are aware their names and addresses are being used to redirect consumers to a national relay company. Very, very odd indeed.

    Reply
  • topper 2176 days ago

    Yeah I’ve used my affiliate system to track conversions from advertising partners rather than relying on their own systems and stats. nothing wrong with that.

    Reply
  • Anonymous 2176 days ago

    If you are looking for the best florist directory try http://www.findflorist.co.uk – this lists the correct florist contact details and links to florist websites.

    Reply
  • DaveN 2171 days ago

    hmm

    Reply
  • Nik Hole 2081 days ago

    http://118.com

    This example is related to advertisers that have paid to be on the site in the past.

    It is not uncommon for chains to want a referral system, and not all chains bear the brand name on the outlets (eg Interflora has a network of florists, not all called Interfora), though increasingly companies are getting more savvy and wanting to track individual referrers with separate codes.

    Some of these listings are expired and are in the process of being cleaned up.

    Some of your comments have provided good food for thought though about ways that disreputable people could try to game systems.

    Thanks for the feedback.

    Nik

    Reply
  • Ian G 1100 days ago

    http://www.floristsinboltonsite.co.uk

    This appears to be a concern & something I will look out for going forward at http://www.floristsinboltonsite.co.uk – my guess is that there is some type of spaming taking place here – though I am very surprised that it is happening at 118 118.

    However have just taken a look at this site through the above 118result link supllied and can see no sign of this problem as of the 16th June 2010

    Reply

Write your comment

Optional

The Bronco Family
Work With Us